Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death

201 pages

English language

Published Nov. 14, 1992 by St. Martin's Press.

Copied ISBN!
OCLC Number:

View on OpenLibrary

3 stars (2 reviews)

Agatha Raisin series #1

When Mrs. Agatha Raisin decides to retire early to the English Cotswolds, she envisions herself enjoying all that country life has to offer: garden parties, tea at the vicarage, and a cozy home far from the noise and smell of London.

Life in the village of Carsely is not as Agatha anticipated, however. Much to her surprise, she doesn't attract much interest among the villagers. No one comes to call; there are no invitations to tennis or tea. A miserable Agatha is forced to acknowledge that she is but another newcomer to the well-established Carsely society.

Agatha didn't succeed in business by being a shrinking violet, though, so she shakes off her doubts and resolves to make her mark on the village: She will enter Carsely's Great Quiche Competition and win! The fact that Agatha has never baked so much as a potato in her life …

4 editions

Review of 'Agatha Raisin and the quiche of death.' on 'Goodreads'

3 stars

M.C. Beaton's writing reminds me of Miss Read, writing about Thrush Green. It's a very dispassionate style. You have to acquire a taste for it. The mystery was well written, with enough clues for the reader. Agatha herself is hard to like - her mental processes are not well explained.

If you like the Hamish MacBeth murder stories by this same author, then you will like these.


  • Raisin, Agatha (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
  • Women private investigators -- England -- Cotswold Hills -- Fiction
  • Quiches (Cookery) -- Fiction
  • Cotswold Hills (England) -- Fiction